Only getting 3Kw on 22KW charger

Faults and Technical chat for the Volkswagen ID.3
BBlackmore

Post by BBlackmore »

I am new to all of this and quite confused. Have seen on here that the car can only charge at 11Kw on a 22Kw charger, but my car is only charging at 3Kw. Have tried 3 different charging stations.
Suspect there is something I am doing wrong, or have not activated.
Also, have tried 4 different rapid chargers and cannot get any of them to work. Have called Charge Scotland who always assure me the charging station has been working for other users. Can only assume that it is either the car or me, probably me.
Any advice greatly appreciated.

Deleted User 1733

Post by Deleted User 1733 »

When using the AC 22KW chargers you need to have a suitable cable, you need a 3 phase 32amp cable.
davidwalton

Post by davidwalton »

Do you have the 'Reduced AC charging current' setting enabled in the car or in the WeConnect ID app? This will reduce the 11kWh (max ac charging with the ID.3) down quite a bit.

Do you have any locations set in the car? This might mess up charging at public chargers.

With regard to rapid charging, did the chargers start delivering current to the car or not? Some chargers have to be started with NFC cards, some via an app. From your description, it isn't clear if the start-up routine for the chargers was correct. Daft question - when rapid charging was tried (dc), did you remove the 'extra' cover at the bottom of the car charging port? Have to ask, just in case...

My ID.3 chargers perfectly at home, and at every (working) public charger I've tried too, except one. It's a 22kWh EO charger and people I know with Tesla's, MG's and Polestars use it & charge without issue. When I plug the same charger in, my ID.3 attempts to start, but the usual 'clunk' on the car side doesn't happen and eventually, the flashing white light at the car charge-port turns solid red. I can't explain this at all!