Yet another error - can’t display distance

Faults and Technical chat for the Volkswagen ID.3
Post Reply
Jono
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:56 pm

Post by Jono » Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:50 am

Within a mile of Leaving service to correct the two previous errors, I now get a new one advising that total distance can’t be displayed and to visit service. To make things worse this error takes a quarter after the screen and doesn’t go away, it even restricts other information that normally displays in that area.

4 errors in 3 days of picking up - not impressed.

edgedlee
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:00 pm
Location: Northwest U.K.

Post by edgedlee » Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:08 pm

I’m still waiting for my dealer to correct this error which occurred after the 12v battery completely discharged while sitting in my garage and had to be restored by VW Assistance (aka the AA). I took the car in first thing Monday this week and late on Tuesday they told me that the 2.1 update hadn’t solved the problem and they were waiting for Germany to tell them how to fix it. It’s now Thursday and still no news!

edgedlee
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:00 pm
Location: Northwest U.K.

Post by edgedlee » Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:29 pm

I phoned them this morning (Friday) and they said the fix that VWUK had suggested didn’t work so they are escalating the problem to VW Germany. Apparently they can’t complete the update either because the error message is showing! They hope to have more news next Tuesday .......

edgedlee
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:00 pm
Location: Northwest U.K.

Post by edgedlee » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:46 pm

And the saga goes on! Had a call this morning (Tuesday 16th) to say that the VW Factory had suggested they replace a part but they couldn’t order the part yet as the “catalogue” is being updated .........

Jono
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:56 pm

Post by Jono » Tue Mar 16, 2021 8:57 pm

You really couldn’t make this stuff up - it’s a total fiasco. The sad thing is, VW font seem to care.

Ph66
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 2:38 pm

Post by Ph66 » Wed Mar 17, 2021 1:20 pm

We had this problem , as well as SOS error , the dealer ended up ordering and fitting a new control unit . Seems to have solved the problem . ( New control unit 1 week to order and fit, VW supplied a hire car .)
ID3 First edition. Glacier white . V2.3 software
Using Octopus Go off peak electricity - Share £100 each if you join Octopus use this code - share.octopus.energy/tan-thyme-926

edgedlee
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:00 pm
Location: Northwest U.K.

Post by edgedlee » Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:54 pm

The part my dealer has been asked to replace is a “body control unit” which they are now able to order as the parts catalogue has been updated. Likely to take 5 days to receive the part and promised me an update next week - which will be into the third week since I took my car in .......

Post Reply