App Not Working Again

All Volkswagen ID.3 related discussions
Boattrainman
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:56 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Boattrainman »

Hi,

Anyone notice the App has been very glitchy recently.

Up to date data on charging has now gone completely (again).

Thanks.

Rob
............................................................................
2021 Pro Performance Max
White with East Derry Alloys

vanb
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 11:51 am

Post by vanb »

My app is working fine. The only problem is the long-standing issue of the under recording of the range. I know the range needs to be multiplied by 1.6 to be in miles. Wish I didn’t have to do this though,
Boattrainman
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:56 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Boattrainman »

Thanks vanb.

Noticed the car is not online either.

I really like this car, as evidenced by some of my previous posts, but the software (thankfully not a huge part of the driving experience) is a real bummer, and I've still to go through the 2.4 to 3.2 process.

Rob
............................................................................
2021 Pro Performance Max
White with East Derry Alloys
vanb
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 11:51 am

Post by vanb »

Must admit that I’ve had no real issues since owning the car from new, 2 years ago, with the car or software. I’m on 3.2 and had a battery module replaced. My car was sent to VW Exeter for this as my dealer couldn’t do it. It was away for about 6 weeks but they provided me with a BMW 320d Touring. Getting back into a diesel felt like going back in the past. I’m not too bothered about software/app so long as it does the basics-which charging, range and preheating are! Hope you get 3.2 soon.
sidehaas
Posts: 1912
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 7:04 am

Post by sidehaas »

Boattrainman wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 11:42 am Thanks vanb.

Noticed the car is not online either.

I really like this car, as evidenced by some of my previous posts, but the software (thankfully not a huge part of the driving experience) is a real bummer, and I've still to go through the 2.4 to 3.2 process.

Rob
3.2 is less glitchy than 2.4.
I've had no trouble with the app today.
ID.3 Family Pro Performance (Jan 22). Also an ID.4 Max. Ohme Home Pro charger.
Kwr68
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2021 5:28 pm

Post by Kwr68 »

Same problem here i can live with the range being wrong ,but it’s good to know how much is going without having to keep going to the car to check the level whether at home or out and about ,i press synchronising and app says data not available managed to log in again and is settled at the moment I’m still on 3.00
Boattrainman
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:56 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Boattrainman »

Folks,

The first rule if ID3 management (i.e, do nothing for a while) has kicked in, App is back working.

Thanks sidehaas, looking forward to 3.2 in July.

Rob
............................................................................
2021 Pro Performance Max
White with East Derry Alloys
richardhope
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 15, 2024 1:14 pm

Post by richardhope »

Recently bought my ID3 and love it. I’ve been reading comments on the App. The charged range seems to be a recurring theme. I have also found this puzzling and interested to see two theories, one is it shows km and the other how much range has been added. I’m inclined to go for the latter theory. I charged my car overnight from about 25 to 80%. The reported range showed as 125 miles added (?) which would be about right given that the total range for my 58KWh battery is about 230 at 4miles/KWH, i.e. 230 x 55% added. My Ohme charging point showed 111miles having been added. Temperature plays a part in all this so there may be variances. I don’t think the former theory works, 125km x 0.62 = 78 miles or 125 miles x 1.6 = 200km, neither of which the car shows once the charging cable is removed. Would be handy if the app actually said if it is added range or total range.
User avatar
StewartManley
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2023 9:16 pm
Location: South Northants, UK

Post by StewartManley »

125 miles × 1.6 = 200miles. Showing "range added" would make no sense.
2021 Tour Pro S, software v3.2, Stonewashed Blue.
lntelligent Octopus Go. Zappi. Solar.
EV driver since early 2018. E-cyclist. Retired.
Octopus referral https://share.octopus.energy/tough-lark-325
SophieCarters
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 17, 2024 12:57 pm

Post by SophieCarters »

I have never noticed an issue with my range on the app until yesterday. I haven’t opened the app for at least a few days so I couldn’t be certain when it started…my app updated on 8 May and it is possible it started after that.

I now cannot see any range (in either percentage or distance) on my app (photo attached). This is a huge issue for me since I live in London and do not have my own charger, and therefore have to park my car a couple of streets away when I need to charge it (which, unfortunately, I need to do today).

This means the only solution I can think of to see if / when it is fully charged is to have to walk back and forth to my car (10 minutes each time!) to keep checking on it.

I’ve force closed the app multiple times and turned my phone off and on again.
The app also only seems to be syncing with my car when I am in it and it is switched on.

Does anyone have any suggestions?!

I have had the car almost a year but am clearly not as savvy a user as all of you, as I’m not sure what the 3.2 / 2.4 people are mentioning means or generally any technical details about it!

IMG_9086.jpeg

sidehaas
Posts: 1912
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 7:04 am

Post by sidehaas »

SophieCarters wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 1:22 pm I
Does anyone have any suggestions?!
It is likely a temporary glitch. In the meantime, just work out how long it should take when you plug in, and go back after that time. It's an easy calculation.
If it's a 3kw charger it'll add 3kwh per hour.
If it's a 7kw charger it'll add 7kwh per hour.
If it's an 11 or 22kw charger it'll add 11kwh per hour.

Your car has either a 77kwh (if it's a Tour) or 58kwh battery. If it's a 77kwh battery and you are on a 7kw charger, it'll therefore take about 11 hours to go from zero to full (adding 77kwh). Hopefully that makes sense. It's easy to halve that time of you want to add 50%, etc.

From your app screen it looks like your car is on old software (2.x) as it isn't showing whether or not the car is locked at the top. There is a recall programme allowing you to get your car updated to 3.2, which is the latest available (you should get a courtesy car). It is worth getting this done; phone your dealer to ask to book it in.
ID.3 Family Pro Performance (Jan 22). Also an ID.4 Max. Ohme Home Pro charger.
Kwr68
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2021 5:28 pm

Post by Kwr68 »

Have to agree with sidehaas this app is like the English weather unreliable its been like that since iv’e had the car(2 years) its the most common post on this forum
adam46
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2024 9:36 am
Location: romania
Contact:

Post by adam46 »

Kwr68 wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 7:02 pm Have to agree with sidehaas this app is like the English weather unreliable its been like that since iv’e had the car(2 years) its the most common post on this forum best outlets in new York
It's disheartening to hear about the persisting reliability issues with the app, akin to England's unpredictable weather. Consistent complaints over two years underscore the need for the manufacturer's attention to enhance app performance. Hopefully, they address these concerns promptly for improved user satisfaction.
Last edited by adam46 on Sun Jun 30, 2024 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Boattrainman
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:56 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Boattrainman »

Charging box still missing on App for three days now, hasn't come back 'on its own'. The App is synched to the car as it registerers car start and stop charging, just no info box.

I guess the migration to 3.2 in July is my only hope at this stage.....

Rob
............................................................................
2021 Pro Performance Max
White with East Derry Alloys
gfoldys
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2021 11:28 am

Post by gfoldys »

signed up for weconnect AND we connect plus?
worked for me
Boattrainman
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:56 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Boattrainman »

I have a We Connect Start1 plan active until April next year.

Rob
............................................................................
2021 Pro Performance Max
White with East Derry Alloys
gfoldys
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2021 11:28 am

Post by gfoldys »

I was signed up to "we connect plus". My app just stopped working 10 days ago until I signed up for "we connect" as well, which I did on my computer. The app started immediately I signed back into car. Both were free.

May be go online and check you are signed up to everything??
SteveJ180
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 4:17 pm

Post by SteveJ180 »

SophieCarters wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 1:22 pm I have never noticed an issue with my range on the app until yesterday. I haven’t opened the app for at least a few days so I couldn’t be certain when it started…my app updated on 8 May and it is possible it started after that.

I now cannot see any range (in either percentage or distance) on my app (photo attached). This is a huge issue for me since I live in London and do not have my own charger, and therefore have to park my car a couple of streets away when I need to charge it (which, unfortunately, I need to do today).

This means the only solution I can think of to see if / when it is fully charged is to have to walk back and forth to my car (10 minutes each time!) to keep checking on it.

I’ve force closed the app multiple times and turned my phone off and on again.
The app also only seems to be syncing with my car when I am in it and it is switched on.

Does anyone have any suggestions?!

I have had the car almost a year but am clearly not as savvy a user as all of you, as I’m not sure what the 3.2 / 2.4 people are mentioning means or generally any technical details about it!
I had exactly this issue and found that WeConnect only works for software versions up to 3.0. After that you need WeConnect Plus. Our car upgraded itself and the app stopped reporting mileage and charge. I upgraded through the app to Plus (at no charge) and it started working perfectly again. If VW communicated this then I missed it.
ID.3 Life Pro | 58kW | Moonstone Grey | since September 2021
Sanya
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2021 1:15 pm

Post by Sanya »

Reading between the lines, the visibility of a car’s range is a ID software version specific problem.

I have ver 2.4 and I’m only able to select “We connect start” as a connectivity package when viewing my car details on the VW website.

I’ve logged a query with VW, for what it’s worth.
Family Pro Performance | Glacier White | Sanya 20” alloys | Delivered March 2022
3rd time EV owner | BMWi Pure wall box.
Boattrainman
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2023 7:56 am
Location: Ireland

Post by Boattrainman »

Hi Sanya,

Same here, below is the work around procedure they sent me (didn't work), and further action required, what a faff.

I love the word 'disenabled'!

Rob

Before proceeding, please ensure that the following settings are in place within your ID.3:
Ensure that Menu > User > Setting > Offline Mode is Disenabled.
The LED bulb for the SOS button is lit green when ignition switch is on (located near the rear view mirror).
The vehicle is not parked in a dead zone such as an underground car park.
If the answer to all of the above is yes, then please proceed with the steps below:
Clearing the app cache on the device.
Uninstalling the app.
Restarting the smartphone (Turn it Off/On).
Take a short drive (recommended 15 minutes).
With the ignition on, reboot the infotainment system. To do this simply press continuously on its Power On/Off button until the Volkswagen logo appears on the welcome screen.
Exit and lock your vehicle, leaving it stationary for 15 minutes.
Reinstall Open your Volkswagen app and ensure the range is displayed accurately on the app.

In the situation that the above steps do not resolve the issue, please reply to this email and provide the following information so that we can investigate further.
Screenshots of error message(s) and provide us the date and time of the last failed attempt ( from app and/or infotainment system).
A photo of the Offline Mode Settings.
A photo of the of the globe symbol on display.
A photo of the LED next to the SOS button (located near the rear view mirror) as lit with the ignition on.
Smartphone model and operation version.
The version of the app.
Thank you for your kind
............................................................................
2021 Pro Performance Max
White with East Derry Alloys
Post Reply